“Hunger Games” receives racist tweets from dim witted fans.

1 04 2012
The Hunger Games (film)

The Hunger Games (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(there is a link for the article posted at the bottom for which this note is in reference to.)

The “Hunger Games” just came out a week ago and I finally got a chance to go out and see it this past week. Never having read the books I think what attracted me the most to go see this film was the simple fact that the reviews along with the overall box office success, including breaking certain records, really did kind of grab my curiosity, so I went. And to be honest with you I kind of liked it! I wasn’t sure if I would or not, given the fact that I had no clue what the film was really about, other than it revolved around a game of hunting and survival for young and older teens. But sitting there watching this film I kind of realized that the story itself was more than just trying to stay alive, but it was also about courage and the sacrifice which came along with it.

However without getting too far off track I came across this one particular article that at first just seemed kind of flat out mean, even bullish perhaps (the people whom it was about, not the actual article itself mind you). The article is in reference to a bunch of racist tweets following the release of the film from fans who did not appreciate a few of the supporting characters cast. One instance in particular was in regards to the actress who played Rue, Amandla Stenberg. A lot of fans just did not like that she was not what they had in mind, from what they remember reading about her in the books, when they went to go see the film.

However this is not the first time that not only has an actor or actress been cast to play a part in a film and was not the exact make or maybe even the same ethnicity of the character form an original story, but the character portrayed in the film along with the film itself went on to receive great reviews as well as success! Such as in this case with Hunger Games pulling in a little over $155 million dollars at the box office just from last weekend alone.

I thought Amanda did a terrific job when it came to playing her character and to be honest with you coming from somebody like me who did not really get to read the book first but, instead saw the film version first instead, all I can say is I couldn’t think of anyone else playing Rue the way she did her self! Her version was perfect in my opinion!

So I guess you could say aside from the rather dull few, the rest of the public who saw the movie really did enjoy it and loved it as well! Like I had mentioned before, I was taken by surprise from it! It really did deliver in so many ways and on so many levels that maybe one day when I find the time to sit down and start on my next series of books this will be one of them.

‘The Hunger Games’ Actress, Amandla Stenberg, Responds To Racist Tweets About Rue

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

