“Rock of Ages” trailer debut, along with a little flashback!

3 04 2012
Rock of Ages (2012 film)

Rock of Ages (2012 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So it looks like Tom Cruise’s latest film titled “Rock of Ages” has finally released it’s first official trailer! I have to admit and I am not going to lie I’m not too big on musical type films however I think personally this film just might find an audience given the music being played along with the fact that it takes during the time (1987) and the place where if you happened to even be remotely¬†connected to this scene, then you were just cool as f@*king shit! Sorry, but it was just a known fact.

I remember moving to L.A. when I was a kid at the age of 8, and even though I never got a chance to see it let alone live it, and even though I pretty much lived on the opposite side of this scene, I can still recall older kids and even my own babysitter who had to ditch (cancel) watching me and my sis due to the fact that Guns N’ Roses was playing at the Whiskey and he just had to see them. I could be wrong though, it may have been a different club but I know it was on the Strip and I know it was in West Hollywood. He even wore his shirt he got there for the show the next night when he came over to see us and tell me about it (because at that time I was just the biggest Guns N Roses fan of all time at that time in my life. Nothing else mattered) and I think one of the reasons I very much so recall this was due to the fact that during the show Axl at one point stopped the set because he was so wasted and so pissed at something, I don’t know what, that he told everyone this was the last time you will ever see Guns N Roses play together again!

Of course he came back out and I guess played the rest of the set because this guy just kept on going on about the show, but that was my first official time hearing about Axl Rose walking off stage and telling everyone in the audience “this is it, no more” and then walk off. And this was 1989 so I think this was not the first time he actually did this but it was the first time I ever heard of it and I remember the feeling I had too. I was devastated! I was 9 years old and I all the sudden had this thought that everything was just going to stop! As if this was just going to hurt rock music, especially in L.A., just so hard. I thought it was going to be a huge major event, but as it turned out that wasn’t the case.

But getting back to the main point of this little post. The fact that it takes place during a real “Prime” time during the Sunset Strip L.A. Rock music scene, and the fact that they are using all the hits that to this day almost anyone young or old can recall, I think this will definitely find an audience which will truly like it!

(the link for the trailer is right below)

Rock of Ages trailer

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

